New Delhi: The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Tuesday said that there would be a ban on exit polls from 7 am to 6:30 pm on October 21 during the Legislative Assembly elections in Haryana and Maharashtra, including the by-elections to 51 assembly constituencies of 17 states.

"General Elections to the LAs of Haryana and Maharashtra and by-elections to 51 Assembly Constituencies of 17 States  and 23-Samastipur (SC) PC in Bihar and 45-Satara PC in Maharashtra to be held simultaneously - Ban on EXIT POLL from 7 am to 6:30 pm on October 21," Sheyphali Sharan, the official spokesperson of the EC, tweeted.

In another tweet, Saran said, "Also Displaying any election matter including results of any opinion poll or any other poll survey, in any electronic media, would be prohibited during the period of 48hrs ending with the hours fixed for conclusion of poll in the respective polling areas."

Elections to the 90-member Haryana Assembly will be held on October 21 along with the 288-member Maharashtra Assembly.

The 17 states which also simultaneously elect candidates for their 51 assembly constituencies are Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Meghalaya, Odisha, Puducherry, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Telangana and Uttar Pradesh.