Mumbai: As Maharashtra Assembly elections are scheduled for later this year, three senior Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) leaders on Monday (September 9) said that they are leaving the party. Meanwhile, Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi leader Prakash Ambedkar made it clear that he will not join the Congress alliance. 

Former Maharashtra ministers of the NCP Bhaskar Jadhav and Ganesh Naik are jumping ship. This comes as a setback for the party. Jadhav said he would be joining Shiv Sena and Naik said that would join the BJP. As per reports, Naik along with 50 cooperators of Navi Mumbai Municipal Corporation (NMMC), will join the saffron party on September 11 (Wednesday) in the presence of chief minister Devendra Fadnavis.

Also read: PM Modi in Aurangabad opens first greenfield industrial smart city; stresses on development

Naik’s entry into the saffron party assumes significance since his son Sandeep Naik joined the BJP this year. Sandeep Naik had joined the BJP on July 31.

Meanwhile, NCP MLA Avadhut Thtkare, nephew of former state chief Sunil Tatkare also announced his decision to join the Shiv Sena. 

Madhav Bhandari, state BJP chief spokesperson, said to media that several other leaders are also in touch with the party and that they would be joining the BJP shortly. He added that at least 20 opposition leaders have left other parties to join BJP and Shiv Sena so far.