Many of us are superstitious in one way or the other, but no superstition is greater than that of 13 being an unlucky number. And if the 13th of the month falls on a Friday, then all hell breaks loose on the minds of millions.

A little research will tell you that the superstition may have risen in the Middle Ages from the story of Jesus’ last supper and crucifixion, in which 13 individuals were present in the Upper Room on the night before his death. 

While in 1907, Thomas Lawson contributed to the propagation of Friday the 13th superstition in his novel of the same name, none has been as responsible in making the day popular as the filmmakers of Friday the 13th franchise.

There are 12 movies in the Friday the 13th franchise that surrounds the character of Jason Voorhees who drowned at Camp Crystal Lake. In the first of the series, Jason’s mother stalks and murders people to ensure the camp does not reopen. His mother is decapitated, but Jason has taken over from there and though is killed everytime, refuses to die. The most famous masked face of the slasher films genre lives on in the minds of everyone and haunts people every Friday the 13th.

Also read: 13 Indian horror movies you must watch on Friday the 13th

While one would expect another movie in the franchise to make the series profoundly complete in accordance with the number that made it so infamous, Jason will not enter theatres until the legal battle, between the original screenplay writer and the franchise owner, over the rights of the movie is sorted out.

It’s been 10 years since Jason made a return to the screen, but lookout, cause he might be lurking in the corner with a machete waiting for the opportunity.

Here is a list of movies in the Friday the 13th franchise

  • Friday the 13th (1980)
  • Friday the 13th Part 2 (1981)
  • Friday the 13th Part III (1982)
  • Friday the 13th: The Final Chapter (1984)
  • Friday the 13th: A New Beginning (1985)    
  • Friday the 13th Part VI: Jason Lives (1986)
  • Friday the 13th Part VII: The New Blood (1988)
  • Friday the 13th Part VIII: Jason Takes Manhattan (1989)
  • Jason Goes to Hell: The Final Friday (1993)
  • Jason X    (2002) 
  • Freddy vs Jason (2003)
  • Friday the 13th    (2009)