Vijayawada: Just when the ruling YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) obtained a stronghold in Andhra Pradesh, state BJP president Kanna Lakshminarayana on Wednesday (July 10) said that his party would emerge as a strong party in the state in the upcoming days.

Speaking to reporters in Kadapa, Andhra Pradesh, the BJP president said that several leaders from the TDP, Jana Sena and the ruling YSRCP are all set to quit their party and jump ship to the BJP.

Kanna further said that their party is working with the target of coming into power in the next 2024 elections.

Speaking to MyNation, Telugu Desam Party (TDP) spokesperson Prem Kumar Jain said, "The BJP is trying to win in Andhra Pradesh and Telangana in the 2024 Assemble elections by hook or crook. You can see that in Karnataka too. The BJP is doing the same. The BJP is nothing but a group of horse traders. Our people (TDP) are loyal to our party. But, due to IT-ED raids, they are scared."

"This is not only in Andhra Pradesh or Telangana, but the BJP is also doing the same across India," he added.

Earlier in June, four of the six TDP Rajya Sabha MPs announced that they are joining the BJP. The TDP MPs, TG Venkatesh, YS Chowdary, GM Rao and CM Ramesh announced that they would join the BJP. They also met Rajya Sabha chairman Venkaiah Naidu and submitted their resignation from the TDP.

However, the TDP spokesperson once again blamed the BJP in this regard and claimed that the BJP could conduct raids on TDP leaders anytime and hence has brought about fear in people.

MyNation also tried contacting a YSRCP leader from Andhra Pradesh, but the calls went unanswered.