In a major development, justice has been served in the M Chinnaswamy Stadium blast case that shook Bengaluru on April 17, in 2010. 

The Special NIA court in Bengaluru sentenced the three main accused of the blast, to seven years in prison with an imposition of a hefty fine of Rs 10 lakh each.

The special court announced the punishment after the accused, Gowhar Azeez Khomani, Kamaal Hasan and Mohammed Kafeel Akhtar agreed to confess their misdeeds post the rejection of the plea bargaining petition sought by them. They had filed a petition for a concession in their punishment, under section 265 of CrPC.

Two other accused in the blast, Yaseen and Riyaz Bhatkal were charged with criminal conspiracy before. 14 were accused in the case and seven are still absconding, as per reports.

Chinnaswamy Stadium blast happened before the start of an Indian Premier League (IPL) match, which left 15 people including five police personnel, injured.