New Delhi: Batting legend and former India captain Sachin Tendulkar’s record will remain untouched at this year’s ICC World Cup 2019 in England Wales.

The 10-team tournament will get under way on May 30 and culminate on July 14 at the iconic Lord’s ground.

Also read: Full schedule of India matches at World Cup with start times, live TV, streaming info

The Indian team, led by Virat Kohli, left for England on Wednesday (May 22) and the nation’s hopes rest with 15 men as they aim to bring the trophy home.

When we look at the batting records in World Cup history, Tendulkar has dominated. He is the only batsman to have aggregated 2,000 runs in the tournament’s history.

Also read: Highest-ever prize money awaits World Cup 2019 champions

Tendulkar, who played six editions of the World Cup, 1992, 1996, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2011, with the final one culminating in a trophy win, is still the number one batsman among the highest run scorers.

In his illustrious international career, Tendulkar amassed 2,278 World Cup runs with six centuries, both records. He averaged 56.95 in his 44 innings out of 45 matches. Besides six hundreds, he hit 15 half centuries.

Also read: All the 10 squads for World Cup 2019

The second best batsman in World Cup history is former Australian captain Ricky Ponting. He led his country to two World Cup titles, 2003 and 2007. He was also part of the winning squad in 1999.

Also read: Full list of TV channels for each country to watch World Cup 2019

In this year’s edition, the batsman with most World Cup runs is West Indies’ Chris Gayle (944 runs). He is 22nd in the list while the top-21 have all retired from international cricket.

Here are the top-10 run scorers in World Cup history

1. Sachin Tendulkar (India) — 2,278 runs (45 matches)

2. Ricky Ponting (Australia) — 1,743 (46)

3. Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka) — 1,532 (37)

4. Brian Lara (West Indies) — 1,225 (34)

5. AB de Villiers (South Africa) — 1,207 (23)

Also read: Top 10 wicket-takers in World Cup

6. Sanath Jayasuriya (Sri Lanka) — 1,165 (38)

7. Jacques Kallis (South Africa) — 1,148 (36)

8. Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka) — 1,112 (27)

9. Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka) — 1,100 (40)

10. Adam Gilchrist (Australia) — 1,085 (31)