London: Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Poonam Yadav, Smriti Mandhana were among the awardees of the inaugural edition of the Indian Cricket Heroes (ICH), which was held at Lord’s Cricket Ground, London ahead of the ICC World Cup 2019.

An initiative by RP Sanjiv Goenka Group, Cornerstone and Star Sports, the Indian Cricket Heroes recognises and rewards Indian cricketers (men and women). The awards ceremony was held on May 23 but the winners were announced on May 29 on Star Sports in a special broadcast.

Also read: Your complete guide to World Cup 2019

ICH saw an array of eminent cricket legends, business and political stalwarts, international television, film and sports stars enjoy a ‘gold’ carpet welcome and champagne reception before the awards ceremony, which was hosted by Indian film and music star Farhan Akhtar and renowned television personality Shibani Dhandekar.

This year’s event crowned the greatest performers in Indian cricket in the last 12 months across nine categories, with a special Heroes Tribute.

Also read: Full list of TV channels for each country to watch World Cup 2019

Speaking about the Indian Cricket Heroes and his role as co-chairman of the jury, cricketing legend and India's 1983 World Cup winning captain Kapil Dev said, “The Indian Cricket Heroes is an important new chapter in India’s annual cricket calendar. This initiative will seek to recognise and award the best talent across the Men’s and Women’s teams from the country.”

The selection process considered performances of cricketers from the award period of May 28, 2018 to May 13, 2019. Nominations were shortlisted from the statistics and final nominations were voted by a rich roster of commentators from Star Sports panel. The final awardees were selected by the jury based on their deliberations and voting.

Also read: Full schedule of India matches at World Cup with start times, live TV, streaming info

Indian Cricket Heroes is conceptualised by Sanjiv Goenka, Chairman, RP Sanjiv Goenka Group, Bunty Sajdeh, founder of Cornerstone, and Star Sports.

Goenka, co-chairman of the Indian Cricket Heroes jury, said, “Cricket is a sport that brings billions of people together, and to start our journey in London at the Home of Cricket is indeed very special. With this initiative, we have brought together the legends of the game - both past and present, from the Women’s and Men’s divisions. This is truly remarkable, and I hope it will inspire the generations of cricketers to come.”

Full list of Indian Cricket Heroes awards winners

Photos from Indian Cricket Heroes event

Emerging Cricketer of the Year (Female) – Radha Yadav

Emerging Cricketer of the Year (Male) – Mayank Agarwal

Bowler of the Year (Female) – Poonam Yadav

Bowler of the Year (Male) – Jasprit Bumrah

Batter of the Year (Female) – Smriti Mandhana

Batter of the Year (Male) – Rohit Sharma

Best Performance in India’s Premier T20 Tournament 2019 – Andre Russell (Kolkata Knight Riders)

Best Performance versus India 2019 – Sam Curran (England)

Cricketer of the Year – Jasprit Bumrah

Heroes Tribute 2019 – Yuvraj Singh