Sushil Kumar Modi is an Indian politician and member of the BJP. He was born on 5 January 1952 in Bhagalpur, Patna, Bihar. His zodiac sign is Capricorn. He completed his schooling from Patna High School, Patna, Bihar. He earned a BSc degree from BN College, Patna, and an honours degree in Botany from Patna Science College. 

His father’s name is Moti Lal Modi, and his mother’s name is Ratna Devi. 

He is married to Jessie George. They are parents to Utkarsh Tathagat, and Akshay Amritanshu.

Interesting facts about Sushil Kumar Modi

In the year 1962, he became a member of RSS. He was seven years old at the time. 

During the Sino-India War of 1962, he was appointed as the Commandant to teach parades to students and civilians to maintain their physical fitness.

In 1968, Sushil Modi did the 3-year Officer Training Course (OTC), which is considered the highest training course of the RSS.

He was elected General Secretary of Patna University Students Union along with Lalu Prasad Yadav in the year 1973. 

On 30 June 1975, he was imprisoned, and he spent his jail time in the prisons of Darbhanga, Samastipur, Hazaribagh, Buxar and Bhagalpur.

Sushil Kumar Modi’s political journey

In the year 1977, he was appointed as the Secretary of Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad.

From the year 1977 to 1986, he worked on various posts including State Organizing Secretary, Bihar All India Secretary, in-charge of UP and Bihar and All India General Secretary of Vidyarthi Parishad.

Sushil Kumar Modi successfully contested elections from Patna Central Assembly and served as the Chief of BJP Bihar Legislative Party.

He was the leader of opposition in Bihar State Assembly from 1996 to 2004. 

Sushil Kumar Modi as Bihar’s Deputy CM

Sushil Modi was elected as a Lok Sabha member from Bhagalpur constituency in the year 2004. 

In the year 2005, he was elected as the leader of Bihar BJP Legislative Party on behalf of the NDA government in Bihar elections. He later resigned from this post and in the same year he took charge as the Deputy Chief Minister of Bihar.

Sushil Modi was re-elected as the Deputy Chief Minister of Bihar in the years 2010 and 2017. 

Presently, he is a Member of Parliament in the Rajya Sabha from Bihar.