Pakistan's cricket star-turned-politician Imran Khan is sworn in as prime minister. He is the 22nd prime minister of the country. The ceremony took place at the President House in Islamabad on Saturday. Pakistan President Mamnoon Hussain administered the ceremony. 

In the vote by lawmakers at the National Assembly, Khan secured 176 votes, defeating the opposition's candidate, Shahbaz Sharif of the Pakistan Muslim League party, who got 96 votes.

Khan’s wife, Bushra Maneka also reached President House to attend her husband's oath-taking ceremony.

Following the oath-taking ceremony, the signing of documents will take place. 

The former cricketer had invited three of his contemporary players from India, Navjot Singh Sidhu, Sunil Gavaskar and Kapil Dev to his oath ceremony. Only Sidhu attended the event.

Former cricketer and Congress leader Navjot Singh Sidhu had arrived in Pakistan on Friday. He was seen meeting Pakistan Army Chief General Qamar Javed Bajwa too during the ceremony. 

Sidhu was seated next to President of Pakistan occupied Kashmir, Masood Khan at Imran Khan's oath ceremony.

Khan's populist Tehrik-e-Insaf party won the most seats in the July 25 elections but fell short of securing a majority in the 342-seat house. 

With inputs from agencies