Hyderabad: The counting of votes has begun in Telangana. While K Chandrashekar Rao's Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) is confident of retaining power in the state, TDP-Congress along with TJS and CPI have formed Prajakutami and are expected to give a tough fight to TRS. Here are seven important constituencies to look out for in Telangana.

Gajwel constituency in Medak district is considered as the most important seat in Telangana Assembly elections. TRS chief and caretaker chief minister K Chandrashekar Rao (KCR) is fighting the election from this constituency for the second time. Congress leader Pratap Reddy is his main opponent in Gajwel.

Before 2014 (before the formation of Telangana state), Chandrashekar Rao fought election from Siddipet constituency.

The second important constituency is Siddipet, where T Harish Rao, Chandrashekar Rao's nephew and caretaker minister for irrigation, marketing and legislative, is in the fray. He is said to be in the second rung of leaders in TRS.

KCR's son and caretaker IT minister K Tarak Rama Rao (KTR) is fighting the election against Congress' Mahendra Reddy. KTR is said to be next in line in the TRS party and this seat is a matter of pride to the party.

Kodangal was in news even before the elections as Congress candidate Revant Reddy was arrested and TRS was blamed for this move. So winning this is a matter of pride for Revant, who is against Narendra Reddy of TRS. Narendra was earlier in TDP and was caught in cash for vote scam.

Telangana Congress president Uttam Kumar Reddy is fighting the election in this constituency for the third time. He has contested against Sanampudi Saidi Reddy of TRS. Interestingly, Uttam Kumar has said that he will not shave his beard till Congress comes to power in Telangana.

The Telangana BJP president K Lakshman is in the fray against the TRS candidate M Gopal. The Congress youth president Anil Kumar has also contested this seat. All three candidates are said to be strong and this is going to be a triangle fight.

Akbaruddin Owaisi, the man of controversies, younger brother of All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) chief Asaduddin Owaisi is contesting the election for the fourth time from this constituency.