Hyderabad: The counting of votes has begun in Telangana, which went for Assembly elections on December 7. The fate of the candidates who contested in 119 constituencies will be decided today.

Currently, Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) is leading in Telangana, followed by the alliance Praja Kutami that includes Telugu Desam Party (TDP) of Andhra Pradesh chief minister Chandrababu Naidu, Congress, Telangana Jana Samithi (TJS) and CPI.

TRS has clearly passed the halfway mark with leads in more than 90 seats out of 119 constituenncies. 

Caretaker chief minister KCR is currently leading from Gajwel. TRS is leading in 88 seats, Praja Kutami in 19 seats, AIMIM in 5 seats, BJP in 4 seats and others are leading in 4 seats as per latest reports, at 10 AM.

Chandrashekar Rao has won Gajwel seat by 51,515 votes. Chandrashekar Rao's son KT Rama Rao is leading in Sircilla against Congress’ KK Mahender Reddy and BJP’s N Narsa Goud. 

According to latest reports, Akbaruddin Owaisi of All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen has registered a massive win in Chandrayangutta.

Except for Uttam Kumar Reddy in Huzurnagar, Congress leaders including DK Aruna in Gadwal, Jeevan Reddy in Jagtial and Revanth Reddy in Kodangal are trailing behind. 

Telangana Congress president N Uttam Kumar Reddy was leading in Huzurnagar by 1852 votes over his nearest TRS rival Saidi Reddy after the third round. The BJP, which had contested the last assembly elections held in 2014 in undivided Andhra Pradesh in alliance with N Chandrababu Naidu's TDP, entered the electoral fray alone this time but appeared to have failed to make much headway.

The TRS initially had a slender majority with 63 MLAs in the outgoing assembly but it fortified its position after nearly 20 MLAs from other parties switched over to it.

The Congress had won 20 seats in Telangana in 2014 elections and the TDP 15.

TRS is leading comfortably, whereas Praja Kutami is trailing behind. Congress leaders in Telangana have alleged that 22 lakh names have been deleted from voters list is the reson behind party's poor performance in state.

After sixth round, TRS president and Telangana caretaker Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao is leading by 17,074 votes against Congress candidate Vanteru Pratap Reddy in Gajwel

Telangana caretaker minister T Harish Rao who is also K Chandrashekar Rao's hhas won Siddipet seat by 1,18,699 votes against Telangana Jan Samithi (TJS) candidate Bhavani Reddy. 

TRS MP and KCR’s daughter, K Kavitha said she was confident of her party coming back to power in the state.

"We believe people of Telangana are with us. We have sincerely worked and utilised the opportunity given to us. So I believe voters will bring us back to power and that too independently. We are very confident about it," Kavitha was quoted as saying in the media.