Hyderabad: Telangana Assembly elections will be held on December 7 and those who don’t have Electoral Photo ID Card (EPIC) can still vote as there are alternative identification cards which can be used to exercise their franchise.

In the state’s capital, Hyderabad, there are 313 candidates contesting from the 15 constituencies. In all, Telangana will go to polls to elect 119 MLAs.

The voting will start at 7 am and end at 4 pm in the Left Wing Extremist areas. These are Sirpur, Chennur, Belampally, Mancherial, Asifabad, Manthani, Bhupalpalle, Mulug, Pinapaka, Yellandu, Kothangudam, Aswaraopeta and Bhadrachalam constituencies. The remaining 106 constituencies will be voting from 7am till 5pm.

The Hyderabad District Election Office released the list of documents that can be used in place of the EPIC card to prove their identity. The voters can carry the following: 

  • Passport
  • Driving licence
  • Central/state government issued Service Identity cards with photographs
  • PSU identity
  • Pass book with photograph issued by Post office or Bank 
  • PAN Card
  • Aadhaar card
  • RGI issued Smart card under NPR
  • Original photo voter slip issued by election machinery
  • Pension document with photograph
  • Ministry of Labour issued health insurance smart card
  • MNREGA job card