Hyderabad: Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) chief K Chandrasekhar Rao and Congress leader K Jana Reddy belong to different parties but share a unique record.

The duo has been elected to the state (united Andhra Pradesh) legislative Assembly seven times each. No other politician in the state has been able to match the two veterans.

The only difference between the two is the fact that Jana Reddy has not only served seven consecutive times, but also five full-year terms. He won all his elections from Nagarjuna Sagar constituency.

KCR, on the other hand, did not serve five full-year terms. He won six times from the Siddipet area and once from Gajwel.

Apart from these similarities, both the leaders won their MLA seats on TDP ticket. Later, the two switched to other parties.

Reddy had lost his first contest in 1978 from the Janata party, but later had his first success in 1983. KCR won for the first time from Siddipet in 1985. Since then, he has never lost an Assembly election.

Both the leaders are hoping for their eighth win in this year’s Assembly elections on December 7.