Hyderabad: On Tuesday, the Chief Electoral Officer for the state of Telangana Rajat Kumar said that the campaigns at 13 Maoist-affected areas would end at 4 PM and at the rest of the state by 5 PM. The sale of liquor is also banned in the state from Wednesday till the evening of December 7. 

Kumar said that no kind of public election campaign should arise in the state from Wednesday evening. “Display 
of election matter to the public using cinematography, television or other similar apparatus is also prohibited. Similarly, the release of opinion polls and other election-related programmes in electronic media would also not be permitted during this period. Violation of this rule is punishable for two years or fine or both,” said Rajat Kumar in his statement.       

Kumar has issued orders to keep a check on the distribution of money,     gifts and liquor to the staff on election duty. The photo voter slips would be completed by December 5, stated the authorities of Election Commission of India. The Election Commission said that voters who are unable to provide the ECIP can provide an alternative photo ID, including passport, Aadhaar card, driving license, service ID with photogragh that is issued to the employees by central/state government, PSUs, passbooks with photograph issued either by banks or post office, pan card, smart card issued by RBI, MNREGA job card, health insurance smart card issued under the ministry of labour scheme.             

The Telangana Assembly elections, which is due on December 7, saw some choicest of words being used by the ministers while on campaigns. The Election Commission issued notices to leaders like Harish Rao, Vanteru Pratap Reddy and even TRS president K Chandrasekhar Rao. However, even then there was no stopping them for using un-parliamentary speech during their address.     

There are 1821 candidates contesting the Telangana Assembly elections. Malkajgiri has the highest number contestants (42), while Banswada with 6 contestants is the lowest.