Sydney: All-rounder Krunal Pandya and captain Virat Kohli were the stars as India levelled the three-match T20I series by claiming the third and final game by six wickets here on Sunday.

After Pandya took 4/36 in his four overs to keep the hosts to 164/6 in 20 overs, Kohli hit an unbeaten 41-ball 61 to take the team home in the final over at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG).

Rohit Sharma (23 off 16) and Shikhar Dhawan (41 off 22) gave India a rousing start in the chase of 165. They put on 67 in 5.3 overs. After that, Kohli took over. India hit eight sixes while the hosts managed none.

Also read: India-Australia ODI, Test series schedule with start times, live TV, streaming info

Earlier, Australia started off well with 68 for the opening wicket in 8.3 overs between skipper Aaron Finch (28) and D’Arcy Short (33). However, they lost quick wickets and lost momentum. They were reduced to 90/4 and finished at 164/6.

Australia had won the first match in Brisbane while the second was washed out in Melbourne. Both teams shared the spoils with Sunday's result.

With this, India remain unbeaten in a T20I series since July 2017, when they last lost to West Indies in a one-off game in the Caribbean. They have won 21 out of 28 T20Is since then in different conditions and against varying opposition.

India are unbeaten in 10 consecutive T20I series since August 2017, including a drawn two-match contest against Australia at home (October 2017).

They have won seven consecutive T20I series since the Nidahas Trophy win in the tri-series in Sri Lanka (also including Bangladesh) and beating England away 2-1 in the summer gone past, are the highlights of this unbeaten run.

Last time in Australia, back in 2016, India had won the T20I series with an unprecedented 3-0 margin.

Pandya won the Man-of-the-match honour while Shikhar took the Man-of-the-series award.

Now, the action shifts to the four-Test series, starting in Adelaide on December 6.