Lucknow: Uttar Pradesh chief minister Yogi Adityanath on Wednesday (August 21) expanded his council of ministers with 23 ministers taking oath at the Raj Bhavan.

This is the first rejig of Adityanath's council of ministers since he came to power in 2017.

Four ministers of state with independent charge were promoted as Cabinet ministers, while two new faces, Ram Naresh Agnihotri and Kamla Rani Varun, joined as Cabinet ministers.

Six ministers of states with independent charge were inducted. The two-and-a-half-year-old BJP ministry would also have 11 new ministers of state.

Governor Anandiben Patel administered the oath of office in the presence of Uttar Pradesh chief minister Yogi Adityanath.

Wednesday's reshuffle was preceded by the resignation of five ministers. On Tuesday (August 20) night, resignations of five ministers had been accepted. These included state BJP chief Swatantra Dev Singh and minister for finance Rajesh Agarwal.

The expansion was reportedly slotted for Monday (August 19) but was called off.

Here's the list of changes carried out in the latest Cabinet reshuffle.

Also read: Uttar Pradesh: Swatantra Dev Singh resigns from Yogi Adityanath's Cabinet

The Cabinet ministers are Dr Mahendra Singh, Suresh Rana, Bhupendra Singh Chaudhary, Anil Rajbhar, Ram Naresh Agnihotri and Mrs Kamla Rani Varun

Four of them have been elevated from the minister of state (independent charge) rank. Mahendra Singh was already a minister of state.

The ministers of state (independent charge) are Neelkanth Tiwari, Kapil Dev Aggarwal, Satish Dwivedi, Ashok Kataria, Sriram Chauhan and Ravindra Jaiswal.

The other ministers include Anil Sharma, Mahesh Gupta, Anand Swaroop Sharma, Vijay Kashyap, Giraj Singh Dharmesh, Lakhan Singh Rajput, Neelima Katiyar, Udaibhan Singh, Chandrika Prasad Upadhyay, Rameshwar Singh Patel and Ajit Singh Pal.