Chennai: Invites for the swearing-in ceremony of Prime Minister Narendra Modi for a second term, have been sent out and while many of the tall leaders have confirmed their attendance, some have remained mum.
Sources close to Rajinikanth and Kamal Haasan acknowledge that they have been invited to PM Modi’s swearing-in ceremony. 

Also watch: Modi swearing-in: 1 lakh ladoos being prepared at BJP leader Eshwarappa’s residence in Shivamogga

But as of now, it is clear that Rajinikanth will participate in the event. However, Kamal Haasan’s participation has not been confirmed yet. Haasan's fledgling political party Makkal Needhi Maiam (MNM) had made its electoral debut this Lok Sabha polls. 

However, Rajinikanth is yet to formalise his December 2017 announcement on taking the political plunge. 

Also read: Rajinikanth to attend swearing-in of ‘charismatic leader’ Narendra Modi

Rajinikanth had announced that he will indeed take the political plunge, by floating a party that would contest from all the 34 assembly seats in the state in the next general elections. The next assembly polls are due in 2021. 

Andhra chief minister-elect and YSRCP leader Jaganmohan Reddy has also been invited for the swearing-in ceremony. However, it is interesting to note that Reddy’s swearing-in as chief minister of Andhra Pradesh is also scheduled for the same day.

Reports suggest that MK Stalin, leader of the opposition in Tamil Nadu and the chief of Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam will also be attending Reddy’s ceremony and not PM Modi’s. 

Also read: No tea for Imran Khan in PM Narenda Modi's swearing ceremony

It is also believed that MK Stalin would instead be sending representatives to participate in the swearing-in of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.  

However, MyNation did try to get in touch with spokespersons of the DMK, but they were unavailable for comment.