The Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao (KCR) has tendered his resignation to the Governor, following the unanimous decision taken by the cabinet to dissolve the State Assembly.  

Telangana Governor ESL Narsimhan has accepted the resignation of KCR and appointed him as the care taker chief minister of Telangana. Thus, elections will be held within six months in the State.

Earlier, assembly elections for Telangana  were scheduled to be held along with Lok Sabha elections in 2019. 

KCR even conducted Pragathi Nivedhana Sabha, where nearly 25 lakh people attended the rally on September 2. After the show of strength, KCR has now submitted his resignation and the assembly has been dissolved.

Also Read: Telangana Chief Minister KCR as Lord Rama, Pragathi Nivedhana Sabha turns pink hinting at major political development

Now it looks like Telangana will have elections along with Madhya Pradesh, Chhatisgarh, Rajasthan and Mizoram scheduled in November-December, this year.

The TRS captured power in the State in the maiden assembly elections held in May 2014, winning 63 of the 119 seats.

It is said that KCR wants to ensure his victory when the wave is strong on his side and does not want it to get affected by the mood for Lok Sabha elections in 2019.