Bengaluru: Congress's Krishna Byre Gowda will take on BJP's Sadananda Gowda in Bengaluru North constituency in Karnataka.

Krishna Byre Gowda, the rural development minister in Kumaraswamy's Cabinet, contested the Lok Sabha election in 2009 from Bengaluru South, when he lost to late BJP leader Ananth Kumar.

Congress wanted JD(S) chief Deve Gowda to contest from Bengaluru North, but he chose to fight the election from Tumakuru. In addition, the JD(S) gave up its seat (Bengaluru North) that initially belonged to the party, according to the seat-sharing arrangement with the Congress.

With no strong contenders in the JD(S) to face BJP leader, Union minister for Statistics and Programme Implementation, Sadananda Gowda, the party gave up its seat to the Congress. Thus now, Krishna Byre Gowda is all set to fight Sadananda Gowda, who is considered as a strong contender.  

Bengaluru North has eight Assembly seats KR Puram, Byatarayanapura, Yeshwantpur, Dasarahalli, Mahalakshmi Layout, Malleshwaram, Hebbal, Pulakeshinagar. Out of these eight seats, seven are won by the Congress and the JD(S), while one is with the BJP.

In 2014, Sadananda Gowda had won against Congress leader Narayana Swamy with a margin of over 2,29,000 votes.

Krishna Byre Gowda is an MLA from Byatarayanapura constituency and has been elected to the Assembly in 2003, 2008 and 2014.

Krishna Byre Gowda joined the JD(S) after his father C Byre Gowda (a Janata Dal (United) leader) died in 2003. He joined the Congress in 2004.