Mumbai: India will leave for England on May 22 (Wednesday) to participate in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 which will be played in England and Wales from May 30 to July 14.

The Virat Kohli-led ‘Men in Blue’ will play two warm-up matches before the 10-team tournament begins. India face New Zealand and Bangladesh in practice games on May 25 (The Oval, London) and May 28 (Cardiff Wales Stadium, Cardiff) respectively.

Also read: Full schedule of India matches at World Cup with start times, live TV, streaming info

Installed as one of the favourites to win the quadrennial showpiece event, Kohli and his men will launch their campaign on June 5 when they lock horns with South Africa.

Before their departure from Mumbai on May 22, skipper Kohli and coach Ravi Shastri will address the media at the Board of Control for Cricket in India’s (BCCI) headquarter.

"The Indian Cricket Team will travel to England on 22nd May 2019 to take part in the ICC Cricket World Cup. A pre-departure press conference will be held in Mumbai," said the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in a media advisory on Sunday (May 19).

All the 10 teams will play each other once in the league phase with the top-four qualifying for the semi-finals on July 9 and 11. The final is at Lord’s on July 14.

Also read: Highest-ever prize money awaits World Cup 2019 champions

India are eyeing their third World Cup title. They had won in 1983 under Kapil Dev’s captaincy and 28 years later MS Dhoni took their glory in 2011 at home.

Also read: All the 10 squads for World Cup 2019

There were reports that all-rounder Kedar Jadhav is fully fit and will travel with the team on May 22. He had been ruled out of the later part of Indian Premier League (IPL 2019) due to a shoulder injury.

India squad

Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Vijay Shankar, MS Dhoni (wicketkeeper), Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, KL Rahul, Dinesh Karthik.