Manchester: It was not a good start for Pakistan bowlers as Indian openers dominated the proceedings during their ICC World Cup 2019 match at Old Trafford on Sunday (June 16). It was a double blow as not only did the bowlers concede runs but there two official warnings each to Pakistan’s two strike bowlers.

First it was Mohammad Amir who received two official warnings for running on to the ‘protected area’ on the pitch or the ‘danger zone’. Later, Wahab Riaz too was handed two official warnings.

Match scorecard

Amir got the warnings from Australian on-field umpire Bruce Oxenford while his partner Marais Erasmus of South Africa warned Riaz in the 24th over. However, the warning worked out in Pakistan’s favour.

Thanks to the warning, Riaz chose to come round the wicket and struck. He had KL Rahul (57) caught by Babar Azam at cover to break the opening partnership of 136.

One more warning to Amir and Riaz will bar the duo from bowling for the rest of the innings.

Photos from India-Pakistan World Cup matches

What is ‘protected area’?

The protected area is defined as that area of the pitch contained within a rectangle bounded at each end by imaginary lines parallel to the popping creases and 5 ft/1.52 m in front of each, and on the sides by imaginary lines, one each side of the imaginary line joining the centres of the two middle stumps, each parallel to it and 1 ft/30.48 cm from it.

Also read: World Cup 2019 format, rain rules, Super Over and other playing conditions

What rules say on bowlers running on protected area

41.13 Bowler running on protected area

41.13.1 It is unfair for a bowler to enter the protected area in his/her follow-through without reasonable cause, whether or not the ball is delivered.

41.13.2 If a bowler contravenes this Law, at the first instance and when the ball is dead, the umpire shall

- caution the bowler and inform the other umpire of what has occurred.  This caution shall apply to that bowler throughout the innings.

- inform the captain of the fielding side and the batsmen of what has occurred.

41.13.3 If, in that innings, the same bowler again contravenes this Law, the umpire shall repeat the above procedure indicating that this is a final warning. This warning shall also apply throughout the innings.

41.13.4 If, in that innings, the same bowler contravenes this Law a third time, when the ball is dead, the umpire shall,

- direct the captain of the fielding side to suspend the bowler immediately from bowling. If applicable, the over shall be completed by another bowler, who shall neither have bowled any part of the previous over, nor be allowed to bowl any part of the next over.  The bowler thus suspended shall not be allowed to bowl again in that innings.

- inform the other umpire of the reason for this action.

- inform the batsmen and, as soon as practicable, the captain of the batting side of what has occurred.

The umpires together shall report the occurrence as soon as possible after the match to the Executive of the offending side and to any Governing Body responsible for the match, who shall take such action as is considered appropriate against the captain, any other individuals concerned and, if appropriate, the team.