Mohammad Amir was in danger of being disallowed to bowl for the rest of the innings during the India-Pakistan ICC World Cup 2019 contest at Old Trafford
Manchester: Pakistan fast bowler Mohammad Amir was given two official warnings by the umpire as early in the third and fifth overs of their ICC World Cup match against India at Old Trafford on Sunday (June 16).
Amir, who started the match with a maiden in the very first over of the contest, was given an official warning for running on to the ‘protected area’ of the pitch, also known as ‘danger zone’.
On-field umpire Bruce Oxenford of Australia noticed that Amir had run on to the ‘danger zone’ in his follow through. He was immediately given a warning and was informed about the same to Pakistan captain Sarfaraz Ahmed, who earlier won the toss and elected to bowl first in overcast conditions.
Later, again in the fifth over of the match, Amir did the same and received second official warning from Oxenford. One more warning will see Amir not being allowed to bowl for the rest of the innings.
What is ‘protected area’?
The protected area is defined as that area of the pitch contained within a rectangle bounded at each end by imaginary lines parallel to the popping creases and 5 ft/1.52 m in front of each, and on the sides by imaginary lines, one each side of the imaginary line joining the centres of the two middle stumps, each parallel to it and 1 ft/30.48 cm from it.
What rules say on bowlers running on protected area
41.13 Bowler running on protected area
41.13.1 It is unfair for a bowler to enter the protected area in his/her follow-through without reasonable cause, whether or not the ball is delivered.
41.13.2 If a bowler contravenes this Law, at the first instance and when the ball is dead, the umpire shall
- caution the bowler and inform the other umpire of what has occurred. This caution shall apply to that bowler throughout the innings.
- inform the captain of the fielding side and the batsmen of what has occurred.
41.13.3 If, in that innings, the same bowler again contravenes this Law, the umpire shall repeat the above procedure indicating that this is a final warning. This warning shall also apply throughout the innings.
41.13.4 If, in that innings, the same bowler contravenes this Law a third time, when the ball is dead, the umpire shall,
- direct the captain of the fielding side to suspend the bowler immediately from bowling. If applicable, the over shall be completed by another bowler, who shall neither have bowled any part of the previous over, nor be allowed to bowl any part of the next over. The bowler thus suspended shall not be allowed to bowl again in that innings.
- inform the other umpire of the reason for this action.
- inform the batsmen and, as soon as practicable, the captain of the batting side of what has occurred.
The umpires together shall report the occurrence as soon as possible after the match to the Executive of the offending side and to any Governing Body responsible for the match, who shall take such action as is considered appropriate against the captain, any other individuals concerned and, if appropriate, the team.
Read Exclusive COVID-19 Coronavirus News updates, at MyNation.
Last Updated Jun 16, 2019, 4:50 PM IST