London: New Zealand fast bowler Trent Boult joined an elite club of bowlers who have taken a hat-trick at the World Cup. However, his feat could not prevent his team from losing heavily to Australia at Lord’s on Saturday (June 29).

Boult dismissed Usman Khawaja, Mitchell Starc and Jason Behrendorff in the 50th over of the Australian innings. He is the second bowler at the ICC World Cup 2019 to take three wickets in three balls. Earlier, India paceman Mohammed Shami had achieved the same against Afghanistan. So far, there have been 11 hat-tricks in World Cup history.

Also read: World Cup 2019 format, rain rules, Super Over and other playing conditions

Overall, Boult is the 10th bowler in World Cup history to have taken a hat-trick. Sri Lanka’s Lasith Malinga is the only one to have two World Cup hat-tricks to his name and one of them includes four wickets in four balls, against South Africa, in 2007.

Also read: Full list of TV channels for each country to watch World Cup 2019

Despite Boult’s hat-trick, Australia won quite convincingly as they defended 243. The Black Caps were bowled out for 157, surrendering by 86 runs. Mitchell Starc was the bowling hero with a five-wicket haul.

Full list of hat-tricks in World Cup

1. Chetan Sharma (India) (Ken Rutherford, Ian Smith, Ewen Chatfield) vs New Zealand, 1987

2. Saqlain Mushtaq (Pakistan) (Henry Olonga, Adam Huckle, Pommie Mbangwa) vs Zimbabwe, 1999

3. Chaminda Vaas (Sri Lanka) (Hannan Sarkar, Mohammad Ashraful, Ehsanul Haque) vs Bangladesh, 2003

4. Brett Lee (Australia) (Kennedy Otieno, Brijal Patel, David Obuya) vs Kenya, 2003

5. Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka) (Shaun Pollock, Andrew Hall, Jacques Kallis, Makhaya Ntini) vs South Africa, 2007 (four in four balls) 

6. Kemar Roach (West Indies) (Pieter Seelaar, Bernard Loots, Berend Westdijk) vs The Netherlands, 2011

7. Malinga (Tanmay Mishra, Peter Ongondo, Shem Ngoche) vs Kenya, 2011

8. Steven Finn (England) (Brad Haddin, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Johnson) vs Australia, 2015

9. JP Duminy (South Africa) (Angelo Mathews, Nuwan Kulasekara, Tharindu Kaushal) vs Sri Lanka, 2015

10. Mohammed Shami (India) (Mohammad Nabi, Aftab Alam, Mujeeb ur Rahman) vs Afghanistan, 2019

11. Trent Boult (New Zealand) (Usman Khawaja, Mitchell Starc, Jason Behrendorff) vs Australia, 2019