Bengaluru: Birthday boy Abhimanyu Mithun took a five-wicket haul including a hat-trick to power Karnataka to Vijay Hazare Trophy one-day title here in Bengaluru on Friday (October 25).

Thanks to 30-year-old Mithun’s (5/34 in 9.5 overs) superb bowling, Tamil Nadu were restricted to 252 in the final at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium. Later, Mayank Agarwal (69 not out) and KL Rahul (52 not out) combined well to halt the Dinesh Karthik-led side’s unbeaten run in the 2019-20 season’s 50-over tournament.

Also read: India T20I, Test squads announced

When bad light and rain stopped play, Karnataka were cruising at 146/1 in 23 overs. They were well ahead of the V Jayadevan Method (VJD) par score of 86. With no chance of resumption, Karnataka won the trophy as the match was called off at 4.10 pm IST. Karnataka won the final by 60 runs via the VJD method.

With this fourth Vijay Hazare Trophy title, Karnataka maintained their unbeaten record in the finals of this tournament while this was first loss in the title round for Tamil Nadu in six.

Earlier, Mithun took a hat-trick in the final over of the innings to keep Tamil Nadu to 252 all out in 49.5 overs. Mithun dismissed Shahrukh Khan, M Mohammed and Murugan Ashwin off successive deliveries to claim a hat-trick and also end the visitors’ innings.

It was Mithun who started off Karnataka’s superb effort in the field after captain Manish Pandey won the toss and elected to bowl first.

Mithun removed Murali Vjay for a two-ball duck in the opening over of the match. Later, he sent back all-rounder Vijay Shankar in the 46th over when the right-hander was looking to make the most of the final five overs. He capped his brilliant day in office with a hat-trick.

Tamil Nadu’s batting revolved around batting of opener Abhinav Mukund (85) and Baba Aparajith (66). Their century stand (124 runs for the third wicket) was instrumental in putting the team back on track after the early dismissals of Vijay and Ravichandran Ashwin.

In a surprise move, Ashwin walked out to bat at No 3 after Vijay was out. However, the move did not work as the right-hander could manage only eight runs before being dismissed by V Koushik. At the stage, Tamil Nadu were 26/2 in eight overs.

Brief Scores

Tamil Nadu 252 all out in 49.5 overs (Abhinav Mukund 85 (110 balls, 9x4), Baba Aparajith 66 (84 balls, 7x4), Vijay Shankar 38 (35 balls, 2x4, 1x6), Shahrukh Khan 27 (23 balls, 1x6), Abhimanyu Mithun 5/34, V Koushik 2/39) lost to Karnataka 146/1 in 23 overs (Mayank Agarwal 69 not out (55 balls, 7x4, 3x6), KL Rahul 52 not out (72 balls, 5x4).

Result: Karnataka won by 60 runs via VJD method

Previous Vijay Hazare Trophy winners

2018-19 — Mumbai

2017-18 — Karnataka

2016-17 — Tamil Nadu

2015-16 — Gujarat

2014-15 — Karnataka

2013-14 — Karnataka

2012-13 — Delhi

2011-12 — Bengal

2010-11 — Jharkhand

2009-10 — Tamil Nadu

2008-09 — Tamil Nadu

2007-08 — Saurashtra

2006-07 — Mumbai

2005-06 — Railways

2004-05 — Tamil Nadu and Uttar Pradesh

2003-04 — Mumbai

2002-03 — Tamil Nadu