Bengaluru: India opening batsman Shikhar Dhawan has been ruled out of the T20I series against New Zealand. Dhawan did not travel with the Virat Kohil-led side that left for New Zealand from Bengaluru.

During the third ODI between India and Australia at Bengaluru’s M Chinnaswamy Stadium on Sunday (January 19), Dhawan hurt his left shoulder during fielding. He was off the ground and did not come out to bat. India won by seven wickets and with it the series 2-1.

Also read: Exclusive interview with Matthew Hayden

India will play five T20Is in New Zealand, starting from January 24 in Auckland. After the T20Is, the teams will feature in three ODIs and two Tests.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is yet to name a replacement for Dhawan.

India T20I squad for New Zealand tour

Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Manish Pandey, Shivam Dube, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Navdeep Saini, Washington Sundar, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami.

New Zealand T20I squad

Kane Williamson (captain), Hamish Bennett, Tom Bruce (for fourth, fifth matches), Colin de Grandhomme (for first three matches), Martin Guptill, Scott Kuggeleijn, Daryl Mitchell, Colin Munro, Ross Taylor, Blair Tickner, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert (wicketkeeper), Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee.

India tour of New Zealand schedule

T20Is (All matches start at 12.30 PM IST)

1st T20I (January 24) - Auckland

2nd T20I (January 26) - Auckland

3rd T20I (January 29) - Hamilton

4th T20I (January 31) - Wellington

5th T20I (February 2) - Mount Maunganui

ODIs (All matches start at 7.30 AM IST)

1st ODI (February 5) - Hamilton

2nd ODI (February 8) - Auckland

3rd ODI (February 11) - Mount Maunganui

Tests (All matches start at 4 AM IST)

1st Test (February 21-25) - Wellington

2nd Test (February 29-March 4) - Christchurch