Bengaluru: India cruised to a seven-wicket victory over Australia to seal the three-ODI series 2-1 at Bengaluru’s M Chinnaswamy Stadium on Sunday (January 19). Vice-captain Rohit Sharma's century was the highlight of India's run chase under lights.

The 32-year-old Rohit hit his 29th ODI ton and captain Virat Kohli scored 89 (91 balls, 8x4) as the “Men in Blue” successfully chased down 287 in the series-deciding third ODI. India made 289/3 in 47.3 overs in reply to the visitors’ 286/9.

Also read: Watching videos of these batsmen helped KL Rahul

It was an amazing comeback by the Kohli-led side after losing the opening game of the series by 10 wickets, in Mumbai. They beat the Aussies by 36 runs in Rajkot and took the trophy in Bengaluru with an easy win.

Having dominated the year 2019, India have started on a bright note in 2020 too. Next, they travel to New Zealand for five T20Is, three ODIs and two Tests.

Also read: Rohit Sharma sets world record

The platform for the run chase was set by Rohit and KL Rahul, who opened in place of the injured Shikhar Dhawan. The duo put on 69 runs for the first wicket before Rahul was dismissed by Ashton Agar for 19. Shikhar had hurt his shoulder during fielding and did not come out to bat.

Kohli and Rohit got together and dominated the bowling. The pair associated for 137 runs with Rohit bringing up his century during the partnership. The Mumbai batsman fell for a superb 119 off 128 balls with eight fours and six sixes.

During his knock, Rohit completed 9,000 runs in ODIs. Kohli too reached a milestone, scoring 5,000 runs as ODI captain.

Shreyas Iyer, after failing in the opening two games with low scores of 4 and 7, returned to form with an unbeaten 44. Local boy Manish Pandey sealed the match with a boundary off Josh Hazlewood, who played his first match of the series, replacing Kane Richardson.

Earlier, Australia captain Aaron Finch won the toss and elected to bat first. Despite Steve Smith’s ninth ODI ton, the visitors were restricted to 286/9 in 50 overs.

Smith made 131 (132 balls, 14 fours, 1 six) while Marnus Labuschagne scored his maiden ODI fifty (54). The next best was 35 from wicketkeeper-batsman Alex Carey.

For India, Mohammed Shami took 4/63 while left-arm spinner Ravindra Jadeja delivered a double-wicket maiden and ended with figures of 2/44. Jasprit Bumrah was the most economical bowler with 0/38 in 10 overs.

Rohit won the Man-of-the-match award while Kohli took the Player-of-the-series honour.

Series results

January 14 (Tuesday): 1st ODI, Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai (Australia won by 10 wickets)

January 17 (Friday): 2nd ODI, Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot (India won by 36 runs)

January 19 (Sunday): 3rd ODI, M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru (India won by 7 wickets)

India tour of New Zealand schedule

T20Is (All matches start at 12.30 PM IST)

1st T20I (January 24) - Auckland

2nd T20I (January 26) - Auckland

3rd T20I (January 29) - Hamilton

4th T20I (January 31) - Wellington

5th T20I (February 2) - Mount Maunganui

ODIs (All matches start at 7.30 AM IST)

1st ODI (February 5) - Hamilton

2nd ODI (February 8) - Auckland

3rd ODI (February 11) - Mount Maunganui

Tests (All matches start at 4 AM IST)

1st Test (February 21-25) - Wellington

2nd Test (February 29-March 4) - Christchurch