Mumbai: The BCCI selection panel has included opening batsman Shikhar Dhawan in the India A team for the final two unofficial one-dayers against South Africa A.

Selection committee chairman MSK Prasad said the 33-year-old Dhawan was added to the squad for the fourth and fifth games against the Proteas. The contests will be played in Thiruvananthapuram on September 4 and 6. India currently lead the series 1-0 after winning the opener by 69 runs.

Also read: India vs West Indies series full schedule, squads, live TV, streaming information

“The All-India Senior Selection Committee on Friday decided to add Mr Shikhar Dhawan to India A squad for the fourth and fifth one-day against South Africa A. India A are currently leading the series 1-0 following their 69 runs victory in the first one-day held on Thursday in Thiruvananthapuram,” Prasad was quoted as saying in a media advisory sent by BCCI.

“Mr. Vijay Shankar has been ruled out of the series owing to an injury to his right thumb,” he added.

Also read: India T20I squad announced for South Africa series

Dhawan struggled during the West Indies tour. This move to play him in the ‘A’ games could benefit him. He scored 1, 23, 3 in the three T20Is against the West Indies and in the two completed ODIs he made 2 and 36.

The left-handed batsman sustained a thumb fracture during the ICC World Cup 2019 in England and Wales and subsequently was ruled out of the tournament. He returned to the squad for the Caribbean tour. He is not part of the Test team.

India A squad for last two one-dayers

Shreyas Iyer (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, Prashant Chopra, Anmolpreet Singh, Ricky Bhui, Sanju Samson (wicketkeeper), Nitish Rana, Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Rahul Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Tushar Deshpande, Ishan Porel.