Mumbai: The BCCI selection panel headed by MSK Prasad today (August 29) announced the Indian squad for the next month’s three-match Twenty20 International series against South Africa.

Also read: MS Dhoni's army stint in Kashmir

There was no place for MS Dhoni. Virat Kohli will lead the side while Rohit Sharma is his deputy. Dhoni had taken a break from the tours of the US and West Indies to serve in the paramilitary. However, the selectors have not included the former skipper for the home series.

Also read: India vs West Indies series full schedule, squads, live TV, streaming information

Rishabh Pant will be the wicketkeeper for the series which starts on September 15 in Dharamsala. All-rounder Hardik Pandya, who was rested for the West Indies tour, has returned to the 15-man squad. Pacemen Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar were rested.

Also read: Commentators announced for India-West Indies series

The BCCI announced the squad through a media advisory. “The All-India Senior Selection Committee has picked the Indian Cricket Team for the upcoming three-match Paytm T20 Trophy against South Africa,” it said.

Also read: MS Dhoni 'unavailable'

India’s squad for 3 T20Is

Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Krunal Pandya, Washington Sundar, Rahul Chahar, Khaleel Ahmed, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini.

Series schedule

1st T20I: September 15 (Sunday) - Dharamsala

2nd T20I: September 18 (Wednesday) - Mohali

3rd T20I: September 22 (Sunday) - Bengaluru