Lincoln (New Zealand): Prithvi Shaw and Sanju Samson starred with the bat as India A thrashed New Zealand A by five wickets in the opening unofficial ODI of the three-match series in Lincoln on Wednesday (January 22).

Yesterday (January 21), both Shaw and Samson were included in India squads for the tour of New Zealand. Shaw replaced the injured Shikhar Dhawan in the ODI outfit while Samson came in for Dhawan for T20Is.

Also read: Exclusive interview with Matthew Hayden

After restricting the hosts for 230, India A cantered home in 29.3 overs with five wickets to spare. Opener Shaw hit a 35-ball 48 (5x4, 3x6) while wicketkeeper-batsman Samson smashed 39 off 21 (3x4, 2x6).

Shaw had hit a 100-ball 150 in the practice game on Sunday (January 19).

Also read: India ODI squad named for New Zealand tour

Suryakumar Yadav too was in belligerent form, scoring 35 off 19 balls with six fours and one six. Vijay Shankar (20 not out) and Krunal Pandya (15 not out) were in the middle when victory was achieved in the 40th over.

Earlier, Mohammed Siraj took three wickets while Khaleel Ahmed and Axar Patel bagged two victims apiece after India A won the toss and opted to field first.

India lead the series 1-0. The second match will be played in Christchurch on Friday (January 24) and the final game on Sunday (January 26).

Brief scores

New Zealand A: 230 all out in 48.3 overs (Rachin Ravindra 49, Tom Bruce 47, Cole McConchie 34 not out, Mohammed Siraj 3/33, Khaleel Ahmed 2/46, Axar Patel 2/31) lost to India A: 231/5 in 29.3 overs (Prithvi Shaw 48, Sanju Samson 39, Suryakumar Yadav 35, Shubman Gill 30, Mayank Agarwal 29, Jimmy Neesham 2/25)