Dubai: The International Cricket Council (ICC) has allocated points for the cancelled series in the ICC Women’s Championship and India finished in the top-four to book a spot in the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021.

ICC said on Wednesday (April 15), “Australia (37 points), England (29), South Africa (25) and now India (23) have qualified by virtue of being the top four. Pakistan (19), New Zealand (17), West Indies (13) and Sri Lanka (5) complete the table.”

Also read: 'Awesome player' — Jos Buttler heaps praise on this Indian batsman

The Women’s 50-over World Cup will be played in New Zealand from February 6 to March 7, 2021.

“The ICC Women’s Championship Technical Committee (TC) has decided that teams will share points in all three series in the ICC Women’s Championship that did not take place during the competition window,” ICC said.

Also read: SRH player frustrated with IPL 2020 postponement

It added, “With respect to the India v Pakistan series, the TC concluded that the series could not be played because of a Force Majeure event after the BCCI demonstrated that it was unable to obtain the necessary government clearances to allow India to participate in the bilateral series against Pakistan, which forms a part of the ICC Women’s Championship.”

Meanwhile, two other ICC Women’s Championship series have been cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. South Africa were to host Australia and Sri Lanka were to host New Zealand in the last round of matches.

The India-Pakistan series was originally scheduled in the sixth round of the competition, between July and November 2019, but despite the best efforts of both the boards, it was unable to take place.

All eight teams in the 2017-2020 edition of the ICC Women’s Championship play each other in a three-match series. The host of the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021, New Zealand, and the next four highest-placed teams on the points table qualify directly for one-day international cricket’s pinnacle event.