Wellington: Another Super Over was witnessed in an India-New Zealand T20I as the "Men in Blue" took four wickets in the final over to tie the match in Wellington on Friday (January 31). In the one-over eliminator, India prevailed, to make it 4-0.

Shardul Thakur bowled a superb final over as he defended six runs in the fourth T20I. New Zealand needed seven off the final over with seven wickets in hand. They lost four wickets in six balls. With two required off the final ball, they managed only one and Mitchell Santner was run out. Scores were level and the match headed into the Super Over.

Also read: India win in Super Over to seal series

New Zealand finished with 165/7 in 20 overs in reply to the visitors' 165/8 in the allotted 20 overs. The hosts needed 18 off 18 balls with seven wickets remaining but could not cross the finish-line.

In the Super Over, New Zealand made 13. India lost KL Rahul but Virat Kohli hit a boundary off the penultimate ball from captain Tim Southee to seal the contest. Rahul had hit a six and a four off the first two balls in the Super Over. However, the next ball, he was out. Kohli took a couple of runs off the fourth ball and won the game for India on the next delivery.

In the third T20I, India had successfully chased down 19 runs to win in the Super Over and with it the series. In that game, Mohammed Shami was the last-over hero.

For New Zealand, Colin Munro was the top-scorer with 64 off 47 balls with six fours and three sixes. Tim Seifert hit 57 off 39 with four fours and three sixes. Seifert was run out on the third ball of the 20th over. Munro too was run out, thanks to Kohli's superb work in the field.

Earlier, India, who were without Rohit Sharma, Mohammed Shami and Ravindra Jadeja, scored 165/8 in 20 overs.

Manish Pandey was the top-scorer with 50 off 36 balls with three fours. The next best came from opener Rahul with 39 off 26.

Leg-spinner Ish Sodhi was the most successful bowler for the Kiwis with figures of 3/26 in four overs.

The fifth and final T20I is in Mount Maunganui on Sunday (February 2).

After the T20Is, both teams will play three ODIs and two Tests.