Rajkot: In the must-win second ODI against Australia, India vice-captain Rohit Sharma set a world record in Rajkot today (January 17).

After India were sent to bat first by visiting captain Aaron Finch, Rohit and Shikhar Dhawan made a steady start.

Also read: BCCI names backup wicketkeeper for Rishabh Pant

Rohit scored a 44-ball 42 before he was LBW to leg-spinner Adam Zampa in the 14th over. The opening partnership yielded 81 runs.

During his knock, Rohit became the quickest to score 7,000 ODI runs as an opener. The Mumbai right-hander surpassed South Africa's Hashim Amla.

Also read: BCCI makes big statement on MS Dhoni

Rohit reached the milestone in 137 innings while Amla had taken 147 visits to the crease. The next best is Sachin Tendulkar (160).

The ongoing three-ODI series is 1-0 in favour of the Australians after winning the opening game in Mumbai on January 14.

In today's game, KL Rahul is the designated wicketkeeper after Rishabh Pant was ruled out due to an injury. KS Bharat was called up a backup stumper.



Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Kedar Jadhav, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, Navdeep Saini, Mohammed Shami, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, KS Bharat.


Aaron Finch (captain), Alex Carey (vice-captain, wicketkeeper), Pat Cummins (vice-captain), Ashton Agar, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Marnus Labuschagne, Kane Richardson, D’Arcy Short, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Ashton Turner, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

ODI series schedule

(All matches start at 1.30 pm IST)

January 14 (Tuesday): 1st ODI, Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai (Australia won by 10 wickets)

January 17 (Friday): 2nd ODI, Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot

January 19 (Sunday): 3rd ODI, M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru