In the list of most wins as captains in the shortest format of the game, India’s vice-captain Rohit Sharma can surpass Virat Kohli if he leads India to a series victory over New Zealand.

This is for the third time that Rohit is all set to lead the ‘Men in Blue’ in the shortest format of the game for a complete bilateral series. Kohli has been rested.

From February 6 onwards, Rohit is going to lead in the three-match T20I series against New Zealand and he might have a chance to overtake Kohli in the list of most wins as captains in the shortest format of the game.

Till date, the 31-year-old has led India in 12 T20Is, out of which India won on 11 occasions. It was only against Sri Lanka in the Nidahas Trophy in 2018 that India didn't win under him.

On the contrary, Kohli has led India in 20 T20Is and India has won 12 of them while losing seven. One of the games were against Australia in 2018 which had no result due to rain.

While former Indian captain MS Dhoni sits on the top of the list with a winning percentage of 59.28 (41 wins in 72 matches), Rohit will go past Kohli and will climb to the second spot in the list if India defeat New Zealand in the three-match T20I series.

Clearly in the shortest format  of the game, it is Rohit who has the best percentage (91.66) among Indian captains (minimum 5 matches) while Kohli's winning percentage is 63.15.

Overall as captains, Virender Sehwag who had led India in their first-ever T20I game against South Africa in 2006, and Suresh Raina who had led India in two T20Is against Zimbabwe and one against West Indies (3 matches), have a 100% record.

With the first game to be played in Wellington, India-New Zealand three-match T20I series kicks off on February 6. The next two T20Is will be held in Auckland and Hamilton on February 8 and 10 respectively.