Adelaide: India have announced their 12-man team for the first Test against Australia starting here at Adelaide Oval from Thursday. Rohit Sharma, who was recalled to the squad, has been included in the 12-member line-up. It will be either Rohit or Hanuma Vihari for the number six batting spot.

With Prithvi Shaw ruled out of the Test due to injury, KL Rahul and Murali Vijay have been confirmed as the two openers. Cheteshwar Pujara will be at his usual number three position followed by captain Virat Kohli.

Ajinkya Rahane will at number five while Rohit or Vihari will take the number six slot. Rishabh Pant was chosen ahead of senior wicketkeeper Parthiv Patel.

Ravindra Jadeja and Kuldeep Yadav were not considered as Ravichandran Ashwin will be the lone spinner.

The pace attack comprises Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami and Jasprit Bumrah.

Meanwhile, Australia confirmed their playing XI on the eve of the game. The hosts dropped vice-captain Mitchell Marsh for Peter Handscomb and Marcus Harris is set to make his debut in the opening spot.

India's playing XI: Virat Kohli (captain), KL Rahul, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah.

Australia's playing XI: Aaron Finch, Marcus Harris, Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Travis Head, Tim Paine (captain and wicketkeeper), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon.