Mumbai: Rishabh Pant may have to wait four more years to play his first World Cup as veteran wicketkeeper Dinesh Karthik is all set to get the ticket for the showpiece event. The national selection committee will meet in Mumbai on Monday to select the final 15-member squad. Umesh Yadav and Navdeep Saini may be chosen as back-up pacers.

A highly-placed source confirmed that the MSK Prasad-led selection panel has already decided the final 15 who will travel to England on May 23 for the World Cup.

According to the source, Karthik is the first choice of the selectors as a back-up wicketkeeper and middle-order batsman. “He (Karthik) is an experienced cricketer. He also knows how to play well under pressure. Karthik can also play big shots when the team requires and has proven himself in the past,” the source said.

Also read: Virat Kohli questions DRS over Ashton Turner’s decision; Australian says ‘didn’t nick’ 

Despite inclining towards Pant earlier, the selectors and team management have decided against taking him to England as the young stumper has not performed well in the IPL so far. His form has been patchy in the past year.

The source added that Ambati Rayudu’s name was considered, but in all probability, he will miss the bus. KL Rahul has been confirmed as a back-up opener. Vijay Shankar has also earned his place in the World Cup squad and will be second medium-pacer-all-rounder along with Hardik Pandya.

Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav have retained their spots in the team and left-arm spinner Ravindra Jadeja will accompany them. Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami and Jasprit Bumrah will make up the first-choice pace line-up.

The Indian team often carries an extra pacer on foreign tours. In the 2015 World Cup, it was Dhawal Kulkarni. This time, Umesh Yadav and Navdeep Saini might join the team. Yadav and Saini will train with the World Cup team and may be used as net bowlers.

Likely Indian team

Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Dinesh Kartik, MS Dhoni, Vijay Shankar, Hardik Pandya, Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah.


Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini