On Tuesday, the fixtures for the two standalone events to be held in Australia were announced in Sydney.

For both the men’s and women’s events, India and Pakistan are pitted in separate groups as per the fixtures for the ICC T20 World Cup, 2020 which will commence from 21 February to 8 March, 2020, culminating in the final at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on International Women’s Day. On the opening day, hosts and defending champions Australia will take on India at Sydney Showground Stadium.

Later in the year, Men’s T20 World Cup 2020 will take place from 18 October to 15 November. 

The opening match of the Super 12 stage of the tournament on Saturday, 24 October will be played by Australia at the Sydney Cricket Ground against the world’s currently top-ranked team - Pakistan. In the second fixture later on the same day at the new Perth Stadium, India will take on South Africa.

On Thursday, 5 March, the women’s tournament will also feature double-header semi-finals at the iconic SCG.

On Wednesday, 11 November, the first men’s semi-final will take place at the SCG with Adelaide Oval hosting the second semi-final the following night. The men’s final will be played at the MCG, on the evening of Sunday 15 November.

ICC Women’s T20 World Cup - Groups information

Based on finishing positions from the World T20 2018 in the West Indies, the eight top-ranked teams have automatically qualified. The remaining two places will be determined through a qualifying tournament to be held later in 2019.

Group A:

Australia (Defending champions and four-time winners – 2010, ’12, ’14, 18) 
New Zealand 
Sri Lanka 
Qualifier 1

Group B:

England (2009 champions) 
West Indies (2016 champions)
South Africa
Qualifier 2

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup - Groups information

Based on MRF Tyres ICC World T20I Team Rankings as at 31 December, 2018, the top eight-ranked teams have automatically qualified.

Based on rankings as of the end of 2018, Pakistan (2009 champions) and India (inaugural champions in 2007) enter the event as the teams ranked one and two in the world respectively, and will therefore be in different Groups for the Super 12 stage.

First Round (Sunday 18, October – Friday 23 October)

Group A (Kardinia Park, Geelong): Sri Lanka plus three qualifiers

Group B (Bellerive Oval, Hobart): Bangladesh plus three qualifiers 

Super 12 (Saturday 24 October – Sunday 8 November)

Group 1:

West Indies
New Zealand 
First Round Group A team 1 
First Round Group B team 2

Group 2:

South Africa 
First Round Group B team 1 
First Round Group A team 2