Mumbai: Opening batsman KL Rahul returned to the India ODI and T20I squads that were named on Friday to face Australia in the upcoming home series.

Rahul, who was suspended along with teammate Hardik Pandya for making sexist and misogynistic comments on "Koffee with Karan" TV chat show, was recalled. with the bat for India A against England Lions. Pandya had made his comeback during New Zealand series.

Also read: Harbhajan reveals his 15-man India squad for World Cup

Virat Kohli, who was rested during New Zealand limited-overs series, also returned to lead the side as the selectors picked almost the same squad from trips Down Under.

Missing out were Ravindra Jadeja and Khaleel Ahmed. Jasprit Bumrah returned after being rested while paceman Siddharth Kaul was included in the ODI squad for the opening two matches of the five-game series. Rishabh Pant also returned to the 50-over set-up in place of Dinesh Karthik. Bhuvneshwar Kumar was rested for the opening two ODIs.

For T20Is, the selectors called up uncapped legspinner Mayank Markande. The 21-year-old plays for Mumbai Indians in the Indian Premier League (IPL).

The India-Australia series starts with the T20Is in Visakhapatnam on February 24. There are two games in the shortest format followed by five ODIs.

This will be the last ODI rubber for India before the ICC World Cup 2019 which starts in England on May 30. The Indian cricketers will play the IPL from March 23.

India squad for 1st and 2nd ODIs

Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Vijay Shankar, Rishabh Pant, Siddarth Kaul, KL Rahul.

Squad for final three ODIs

Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Vijay Shankar, KL Rahul, Rishabh Pant.

Out: Shubman Gill, Ravindra Jadeja, Dinesh Karthik, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (rested for first two ODIs)

In: Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Rishabh Pant, Siddarth Kaul, Jasprit Bumrah

India’s squad for T20Is

Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Vijay Shankar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Siddarth Kaul, Mayank Markande.

Out: Shubman Gill, Mohammed Siraj, Khaleel Ahmed, Kuldeep Yadav (rested)

In: Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Mayank Markande