Jaipur: The BJP in Rajasthan has fielded transport minister Yoonus Khan to take on the Congress's strongest bet Sachin Pilot in the upcoming Assembly elections. Khan was chosen from the Tonk constituency in place of sitting MLA Ajit Singh Mehta who was given a ticket in the first list issued by the BJP on November 11. 

Pilot is the Congress's chief ministerial candidate in Rajasthan and pitting Khan against him is considered to be a shrewd move by the BJP. 

Khan is an MLA from Deedwana in Nagaur district and the BJP waited till the eleventh hour to declare his name as Pilot's opponent, scoring a strategic point in the process. Monday is the last date for filing nomination papers.   

The BJP released its fifth list of six candidates on Monday morning in which the party dropped two candidates — Ajit Singh Mehta and Shankarlal Kharadi, who were given tickets from the Tonk and Kherwara seats respectively in the earlier lists.

Khan replaced Mehta in Tonk while Nanala Aahri got a ticket from Kherwara in place of Kharadi.

Apart from them, the party announced the names of Mukesh Goyel from Kotputali, Mohit Yadav from Behror, OP Saini from Karauli, Rajendra Vinayaka from Kekri and Ramchandra Utta from Khinwsar.

Both Pilot and Khan will file their nomination papers on Monday. 

Congress insiders say that big infighting in the party over ticket distribution has queered the pitch for Pilot. The nomination of Khan as his rival makes it even more difficult for him.