Amaravati: In a show of loyalty, a newly elected member of Andhra Pradesh Assembly belonging to YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) on Wednesday (June 12) took oath in the name of chief minister YS Jaganmohan Reddy.

Nellore Rural MLA K Sridhar Reddy was made to take oath for a second time after he swore "in the name of Jagan" the first time. The pro-tem Speaker SVC Appala Naidu asked Reddy to take oath in the prescribed format and accordingly, the second-time the legislator took oath in the name of God.

Reddy said he considers Jagan his God and that he deviated from the rules for he is emotionally attached to the leader.

The 175-member Andhra Pradesh Assembly acquired new hues as the blue-white-green shades of YSR Congress dominated the members' rows.

The pro-tem Speaker administered the oath to the new members, beginning with chief minister YS Jaganmohan Reddy, followed by leader of opposition N Chandrababu Naidu.

The 25 ministers were then sworn-in, followed by 11 women members. The other members then took turns, and the entire process that began at 11 am ended around 4 pm, after a one-hour lunch break in between.

Only about half a dozen members took oath in English while all others did it in Telugu.

Meanwhile, veteran legislator Tammineni Sitaram filed his nomination on Wednesday (June 12) evening for the Speaker's election.

As many as 30 YSRCP MLAs seconded his nomination, and he is expected to be elected to the post unopposed.

Both Jagan and Naidu greeted each other from a distance upon taking the oath, but the courteous shaking of hands was missing. One MLA of the ruling YSR Congress could not attend due to personal reasons.

The YSRCP secured a landslide victory in the recently-held Assembly election, winning a staggering 151 seats.

The Telugu Desam Party that ruled the state from June 2014 to May 2019 now has just 23 MLAs while the Jana Sena has one MLA.