Vijayawada: The stage is set for the swearing-in ceremony of YS Jaganmohan Reddy as the new chief minister of Andhra Pradesh on Thursday (May 30).

Special arrangements have been made at the Vijayawada's Indira Gandhi Municipal Stadium, where Governor ESL Narasimhan will deliver the oath of office and secrecy to Jaganmohan at 12:23 pm.

Narasimhan is the Governor of both Andhra Pradesh and Telangana. He reached Vijayawada on Wednesday (May 29) where the chief minister-elect Jaganmohan called on him at a hotel and guided him of the arrangements made for the ceremony.

Jaganmohan took his YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) to power with a landslide victory in both Assembly and Lok Sabha elections, where the results were announced on May 23.

The 46-year-old chief minister-elect is expected to constitute the cabinet on June 7.

After the swearing-in ceremony, Jaganmohan is likely to address the gathering and make some key announcements about 'Navaratnalu' or the nine key welfare schemes promised by him during the poll campaign.

Telangana chief minister K Chandrasekhar Rao (KCR), DMK leader MK Stalin and other party leaders will participate in the swearing-in ceremony.

However, Telugu Desam Party (TDP) chief and former Andhra Pradesh chief minister, N Chandrababu Naidu, has turned down Jaganmohan's invite and has decided to send a delegation of party leaders to Jaganmohan's residence with a congratulatory message.

Authorities have made elaborate arrangements for the event at the stadium, which has a capacity of 30,000 people.

Vijayawada Police Commissioner Dwarka Tirumala Rao and senior officials reviewed the security arrangements.