New Delhi: In the first parliamentary session of the 17th Lok Sabha, which took place on Monday (June 17), all the 28 MPs from Karnataka were sworn in.

While 27 Karnataka MPs took oath in Kannada, one MP decided to take oath in Sanskrit.

Uttara Kannada MP Anant Kumar Hegde took oath in Sanskrit. The MP refused to take oath in Hindi. Taking to Twitter, Anant Kumar posted a tweet and said, "Took oath as Member of #LokSabha yesterday in #Parliament for the 6th term.  Looking forward for a constructive and developmental phase of our constituency #UttaraKannada."


However, in another incident, a Congress MP from Kerala, Kodikunnil Suresh, surprised the members of Lok Sabha as he took oath in Hindi as a member of the 17th Lok Sabha.

The House welcomed the Kerala MP's move with the loud thumping of desks.

Suresh was the second member to take oath after Prime Minister Narendra Modi. The oath was administered by pro tem Speaker Virendra Singh.