Hyderabad: The ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) in Telangana on Monday (June 3) emerged victorious in legislative council by-polls from Nalgonda, Warangal and Ranga Reddy Local Authorities'constituencies.

According to reports, TRS nominees Tera Chinnapa Reddy (Nalgonda), Pochampalli Srinivas Reddy (Warangal) and P Mahender Reddy (Ranga Reddy) defeated their Congress rivals in the by-polls which were held on May 31, 2019.

The win in the MLC by-polls brings cheers to the TRS which faced unexpected results in Lok Sabha polls. The party bagged nine of the total 17 seats, conceding four to the BJP and three to the Congress.

After TRS's massive victory in the assembly polls which was held in December 2018, TRS was widely expected to secure 13-14 seats in Lok Sabha elections.

TRS president and chief minister K Chandrashekar Rao congratulated Chinnapa Reddy, Srinivas Reddy and Mahender Reddy on their triumph.

According to the party's press release, KCR thanked the representatives of local bodies who handed a "one-sided victory" to TRS candidates.

TRS working president KT Rama Rao, son of chief minister Chandrashekar Rao, also conveyed his wishes to the winners and complimented the party's leadership in districts.

The three MLC by-polls were necessitated as sitting MLCs resigned from the post in December 2018.