Chennai: The Tamil Nadu political scenario has been hitting headlines ever since the demise of the state’s Amma and former chief minister J Jayalalithaa. The demise of DMK chief M Karunanidhi intensified the political scene.

The exit polls have predicted that the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam alliance with the Congress-led United Progressive Alliance may have an edge over the AIADMK alliance with BJP-led National Democratic alliance. 

If the exit polls are to go by, then the UPA may win majority of the 39 seats in Tamil Nadu with DMK in the forefront.

The Times Now-VMR survey suggested that the UPA will get around 29 seats of the 39 Parliamentary seats in the state. 

The BJP-led NDA, where the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam is a major ally, is only expected to get about nine seats. 

According to the CNN News18-IPSOS survey, the DMK alliance would get anywhere between 22-24 seats while the AIADMK alliance would walk away with
14-16 seats.

According to the India TV survey, the DMK alliance will bag 26 seats and the AIADMK group may get 12.

India Today-My Axis survey has suggested that the DMK alliance would win 34 seats and AIADMK alliance will only get four.

The state also held its bypolls for a total of 22 Assembly constituencies, simultaneously with the Lok Sabha election.

Some of the key constituencies happen to be Kanyakumari, Thoothukudi, Chennai Central, Sivagangai, Dharmapuri.

Thoothukudi sees a battle between DMK’s Kanimozhi - a two-time Rajya Sabha member - and BJP’s state president Tamilisai Soundararajan. 

BJP made an entry into Kanyakumari in 2014 when Pon Radhakrishnan won. He is now seeking re-election against Congress’s Vasanthakumar. 

In Chennai Central, three-time winner Dayanidhi Maran is pitted against debutant from Pattali Makkal Katchi Sam Paul. Kameela Nasser, also a first-time candidate representing Kamal Haasan’s party Makkal Needhi Maiam will also be contesting from the area.