Chennai: The DMK in Tamil Nadu put up a tough fight in the region, however, the ruling AIADMK in the state remained unfazed.

Of the 22 Assembly seats in Tamil Nadu, the DMK led in as many as 12 seats, while the AIADMK was left with 10. This, however, signals that the Palaniswami government can breathe easy as it would continue its term for another two years.

The AIADMK has 113 members on its side including the Tamil Nadu speaker. It continues to remain in power as it now has 10 more MLAs on its side, helping it cross over the much-needed 118 mark comfortably.

38 Lok Sabha seats were in favour of the DMK-led alliance and 1 seat in favour of the AIADMK-led alliance.

Key constituencies have proven the exit polls right, after Chennai Central saw the victory of DMK's Dayanidhi Maran who had already secured the throne thrice before. Debutant Sam Paul of the PMK who also contested from here walked away empty-handed.

All eyes were on Thoothukudi after it witnessed the battle between DMK's Kanimozhi and BJP state president Tamilisai Soundararajan. Kanimozhi bagged 5,10,265 votes while Tamilisai managed to garner 1,96,376 votes.

The Kanyakumari constituency was also much talked about after the BJP made its entry into the state through this particular constituency in the year 2014. BJP's union minister Pon Radhakrishnan walked away with 3,44,885 votes while Congress's H Vasanthakumar walked away with 5,96,269 votes.

The AIADMK in 2014 bagged 37 seats out of 39. However, this time, it has failed to cross the single digit mark. 39 seats went to polls this election season, including Puducherry. The single constituency that didn’t go to polls was Vellore.

This after the constituency was roped into controversy after cash up to Rs 11 crore was seized from a godown that allegedly belonged to DMK’s treasurer Durai Murugan’s son.

The President accepted that polls may be rescinded in the constituency after the Election Commission approached him. The DMK however, called it an act of vendetta.