New Delhi: The BJP-led government in Goa, led by new Chief Minister Pramod Sawant, won the floor test to prove its majority in the Assembly on Wednesday. 

The government got the support of 20 MLAs, two more than what it needed for a majority, while 15 opposed it.

Also Read: I will deal with people the way Parrikar used to: Goa CM Pramod Sawant as he faces floor test today

The special session of the House was convened by Governor Mridula Sinha to conduct the floor test after Sawant was sworn in as the CM during wee hours of Tuesday.

The government got votes from the Goa Forward Party and the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party, which have three MLAs each. Three independent MLAs also supported the coalition. Fourteen Congress MLAs and a Nationalist Congress Party MLA voted against the government.

Sawant’s predecessor, Manohar Parrikar, died on Sunday after a year-long battle with cancer, bringing the strength of the 40-member Assembly down to 36 and the BJP’s tally to 12.

With inputs from PTI