Bengaluru: Bengaluru Central is one of the crucial constituencies in Bengaluru. The constituency was formed as a result of delimitation in 2008. Eight Assembly seats including Sarvajnanagar, CV Raman Nagar, Shivajinagar, Shanti Nagar, Gandhi Nagar, Rajaji Nagar, Chamarajapet and Mahadevapura are included in this Lok Sabha constituency.

BJP's PC Mohan and Congress's Rizwan Arshad have been arch-rivals in Bengaluru Central since the previous election in 2014.

The Congress has won five seats and the BJP three seats in the Assembly elections in these eight constituencies in May 2018 election.

In 2014, Mohan won against Arshad by a margin of 1.37 lakh votes.

This time too, the two take on each other along with 21 other candidates including MK Pasha from Bahujan Samajwadi Party, Mellegatti Shridevi from Uttama Prajakeeya Party.

Among independents, popular actor Prakash Raj is the prominent name who has been trying to sway voters by saying that it is high time for change.

Bengaluru Central recorded 45.05% voter turnout this Lok Sabha election.