Hyderabad: With less than a month to go to LOk Sabha polls, Pawan Kalyan is now ready with the first list of candidates. The actor-politician took to Twitter to say that the party has finalised candidates for 32 Assembly segments and nine Parliamentary constituencies.

The Election Commission has issued a schedule for the general elections of 2019. All parties have expedited the process of candidate selection. However, being a first timer to contest polls, Pawan Kalyan’s party Jana Sena had difficulties in not only forming alliances, but also deciding where to contest from.

The party founder himself had difficulties deciding where to contest from, out of the four choices for him. Three from coastal Andhra and one from Rayalaseema region were his options. 

Pawan Kalyan tweeted, “After a diligent process, the General body of our Party has finalised the first list of Candidates for 32 Assembly and 9 Parliamentary Constituencies (SIC).” 

However, he did not reveal the names of these 41 candidates yet. The party wants to field candidates for limited seats in the Lok Sabha elections in Telangana.

The party workers are involved in making their fifth foundation day, to be held in Rajahmundry on March 14, a success and this has the leaders tied up.

The ruling Telugu Desam Party (TDP) seems to be slightly better-prepared than the rest at the booth-level, say party sources. The biggest challenge in front of chief minister N Chandrababu Naidu and his men is to defend allegations made against the party in the recent past like data theft.

The main opposition, YSR Congress Party’s (YSRCP) plans have also gone haywire. The party chief, YS Jagan Mohan Reddy may have to cut short his public meetings being held as part of ‘Samara Shankaravam’ programme.

The party had planned 13 public meetings in 13 districts, out of which only four were held. According to party sources, two more meetings may take place while the rest may be cancelled due to paucity of time.