Kalaburagi: The veteran leader who has been MLA for nine terms and an MP for two terms is hoping to win for a third time from Kalaburgi Lok Sabha seat in Karnataka.

Previously known as Gulbarga, Kalaburagi is a stronghold of the Kharges (Mallikarjun Kharge and son Priyank Kharge) but according to reports his opponent Umesh Jadhav has put up a good fight and faces a tough battle.  Umesh Jadhav is a Congress rebel who joined the BJP and has the support of a significant portion of the Banjara community.

Umesh Jadhav who was a Congressman alleged that senior Kharge and his son Priyank Kharge were controlling Kalaburagi and did not promote any growth for anyone else in the constituency. Chicholi MLA Jadhav quit Congress on March 4. He joined the BJP two days later and was given a ticket to contest against Kharge in Kalaburagi.

As per reports many influential Congress leaders who were with Kharge in the last election are now supporting BJP. 

Kalaburagi Lok Sabha constituency includes Afzalpur, Jewargi, Gurmitkal, Chittapur, Sedam, Kalaburagi Rural, Kalaburagi Dakshin, Kalaburagi Uttar Assembly seats