Bengaluru: Two days after the BJP won the Karnataka floor test with 105 MLAs as against 99 of the Congress-JD(S) coalition, Speaker Ramesh Kumar addressed the media on July 25 in Bengaluru and announced the disqualification of three rebel MLAs. R Shankar of the KPJP, Ramesh Jarkiholi and Mahesh Kumatalli of the Congress have incurred disqualification under the 10th Schedule.  The rebel MLAs have been subjected to the anti-defection law.

The Speaker said that they would be disallowed from contesting elections until 2023 that marks the end of 15th state Legislative Assembly. "I have examined the resignations and I found that they are not voluntary in nature. Hence, they are punished for the rest of their term in the House," he said.

Regarding the other resignations, Ramesh Kumar said, "I have to examine the documents. I will come back to the media once I am done. I will live up to the expectations of the Supreme Court."

While the BJP's plan is to remove the Speaker in order to keep the flock (rebel MLAs) together, Ramesh Kumar said, "This cannot happen until I voluntarily resign. If they move a no-confidence motion against the Speaker, I will face it."

Also read: BJP chalks out game plan in Karnataka to keep Congress, JDS at bay

There are two options before the disqualified MLAs. "They can go to the Supreme Court or the high court," Kumar said.

Congress leader Dinesh Gundu Rao took to Twitter to welcome the decision of the Speaker. He said, "Speaker #RameshKumar disqualifies 3 MLA's, R Shankar, Ramesh Jarkiholi & Mahesh Kumatalli for the entire term of the present Karnataka Vidhana Sabha.Wholeheartedly welcome the verdict.#VictoryForDemocracy (sic)."

Around 15 rebel MLAs have been camping in Mumbai since July 6 leading to HD Kumaraswamy's resignation after failing to prove majority. Meanwhile Karnataka Congress rebel MLA Shivaram Hebbar returned  from Mumbai to his constituency, Yallapur, after the Congress-JD(S) coalition government fell in the state. Speaking to the media, the Congress MLA said that the 15 MLAs, who resigned are not disgruntled, but are helpless. He also said that soon all rebel MLAs will answer all queries put out by the people and added that the MLAs are waiting for the right time  to speak.