Amaravati: In a first, chief minister YS Jaganmohan Reddy on Friday (June 7) decided to have five deputy chief ministers under him in the 25-member Andhra Pradesh Cabinet.

The new Council of Ministers will be constituted at a public function in Andhra Pradesh on Saturday (June 8).

In a meeting of the YSR Congress Legislature Party at his residence in the morning, chief minister Jaganmohan Reddy announced the decision to appoint five deputy chief ministers.

According to Jagan, each from the SC, ST, BC, minority and Kapu communities would be made deputy chief ministers of Andhra Pradesh.

He also told his legislators that the Cabinet would predominantly comprise members from the weaker sections, contrary to expectations that the Reddy community would get the lion's share.

He said the Cabinet would be reconstituted two and a half years later after a mid-term review of the government's performance.

In the previous government which was led by Telugu Desam Party (TDP) chief N Chandrababu Naidu, one each from, Kapu and BC communities was made deputy chief ministers of Andhra Pradesh.

Jagan's decision to have five deputies is seen as a revolutionary step that is aimed at keeping those communities in good spirits.